











SIMPCO Regional Economic Diversification Summit (REDS) Agenda

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Western Iowa Tech Community College, 4647 Stone Ave, Sioux City, IA 51106 D103 Cargill Auditorium, Applied Technology Building, Entrance 14, Parking lots 4 or 5

	Coffee & Rolls – Sponsored by Northwest Iowa Development	8:30
I.	 Welcome and Overview SIMPCO – Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director US Economic Development Administration (EDA) Jeff Borton, Administrative Director 	9:00 - 9:20
II.	 Federal Funding Economic Development Programs and Examples US EDA - Alex Smith, Representative (ND, SD, Western IA) Iowa US Department of Agriculture (USDA) Tyler Koopman and Brian Augustine, Area 8 Representatives Nebraska USDA - Joan Scheel, Business Programs Director South Dakota USDA - Diane Sieperda, Loan Specialist 	9:20 – 10:00
III.	 University Centers Economic Development Programs and Examples Iowa State University – CIRAS - Mark Reinig, Economic Development University of Northern Iowa – James Hoelscher, Senior Program Manager University of Nebraska – Catherine Lang, State Director South Dakota State University - Qiquan (Quinn) Qiao, Ph.D., Professor 	10:10 - 11:00
IV.	 Regional Business Start-Up Resources Panel Siouxland Economic Development Corporation Ken Beekley, Executive Vice President Iowa Small Business Development Center - Todd Rausch, Director Nebraska Business Development Center - Loren Kucera, Director South Dakota Small Business Development Center - Sue Stoll, Director Iowa's West Coast Initiative - Renae Billings, Sioux City Venture School, University of Iowa - John Engel, Lecturer 	11:00 – 12:00
	Lunch - Sponsored by MidAmerican Energy – Room L113	12:00 - 12:30
V.	 Regional Business Success Panel Iowa: Stacy Ornadorff, Launch It, Heartland Coffee and Nosh Iowa: Bill Brown, Insulights and Treepans.com Nebraska: Pat Boeshart, LiteForm South Dakota: Brock Hutchinson, Big Frig 	12:30 - 1:15
	Refreshments - Sponsored by The Siouxland Initiative	
VI.	 State and Regional Collaboration IA Economic Development Authority – Amy Kuhlers, Program Manager NE Department of Economic Development Dan Curran, Deputy Director of Programs SD Governor's Office of Economic Development – Joe Fiala, Director SECOG CEDS/EDD – Lynne Keller Forbes, Director SIMPCO CEDS/EDD - Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director 	1:30 - 2:30
VII.	Small Group Workshop (Interactive project development)	2:30- 3:30